Assistant Referee Written Test Guide

Common Incorrectly Answered Questions

Assistant Referee Test

Question 1:
Which of the following is a legal use of a ball by a player with possession of it? NOTE: There may be multiple correct answers. Select all correct answers.

(A): Blue Beater tapping Red Beater with a held bludger in an attempt to trick Red Beater into believing they are knocked out.
(B): A keeper using a quaffle to block an incoming bludger.
(C): A chaser using a quaffle to bat a live bludger towards a teammate.
(D): A beater using a bludger to bat a live bludger that has already made contact with them so that they may catch the bludger and negate the knockout effect.

B & C must both be selected in order to get the question correct, as a chaser may use a quaffle to block or bat a bludger. A is incorrect because bludger taps of this sort are explictly disallowed under the rules. D is incorrect because the ONLY action a struck beater may take (other than electing to begin the knockout procedure) is to drop their held bludger and attempt to catch the bludger that hit them.

References: See 5.2.3. Held bludgers, 5.2.5. Blocking and batting bludgers, and 5.2.6. Swatting bludgers.

Question 2:
Red Beater throws a bludger at Red Chaser. Red Chaser instinctively catches the bludger, but drops it instantly. This does not affect play and is the first time they have done this. What is the correct call?

(A): Red Chaser is sent back to hoops.
(B): Red Chaser receives a blue card.
(C): Red Chaser receives a yellow card.
(D): No penalty.

Both players are on the same team, so Red Chaser is not knocked out. Since the interaction with the bludger did not affect play there is no penalty so D is correct.

See 7.1.2 Using the balls.

Question 3:
Which players are allowed to enter the spectator area without explicit permission from a referee? NOTE: There may be multiple correct answers. Select all correct answers.

(A): A speaking captain.
(B): A keeper pursuing another player who has left the player area.
(C): A beater attempting to recover a bludger that has left the player area.
(D): A seeker pursuing the snitch who has left the player area.

Only C is correct. Beaters may leave the player area to recover a bludger from the spectator area (unless explicitly told by a referee to let an opposing beater retrieve that specific bludger), but players may not leave the player area to interact with any in-play person (either opponents or the snitch). There are other situations in which a player may leave the player area (for example, when injured or attending to an injured teammate) but these situations are not among the options for this question.

See 7.7.2.D. The spectator area.

Question 4:
Which of the following is allowed?

(A): Seating (benches or chairs) within the team bench for the players, coaches, and team staff.
(B): Extra brooms within the player area for the substitutes preparing to enter play.
(C): Spectator seating within the spectator area anywhere up to the player area boundary.
(D): A player leaving the player area to access their personal backpack.

Players are explicitly allowed under the rules to leave the player area briefly to access their backpacks and other equipment which must be stored outside of the player area next to their team bench. No seating for players is allowed in the player area (A). No player brooms other than the ones in play are allowed in the player area (B). Spectators may not sit, lie, or rest in a position of limited mobility within 3 yards of outer edges of the player area (C). Note that this restriction does not prohibit spectators standing near the player area, provided that they are able to move out of the way of gameplay.

See Team benches and Spectators.

Question 5:
Blue Beater is attempting to recover the third bludger (Red Team has possession of two bludgers). Blue Beater runs directly toward the bludger with one fist raised. Once Blue Beater arrives at the third bludger, Blue Beater does not pick it up but stands beside it with a hand remaining in the air. Red Beater hits Blue Beater with a different bludger. What is the correct call?

(A): Blue Beater is sent back to hoops.
(B): No penalty.
(C): Blue Beater receives a blue card.
(D): Red Beater is sent back to hoops for guarding the third bludger. No penalty for Blue Beater.

The beater receives a blue card because the only action they may take while calling immunity is to attempt to retrieve the free bludger, and in this circumstance they have disregarded this directive.

See Knockout immunity.