Snitch Referee Written Test Guide

Common Incorrectly Answered Questions

Snitch Referee Test

Question 1:
Which of the following are part of the snitch code of conduct? NOTE: There may be multiple correct answers. Select all that apply.

Options:
(A): A snitch runner must not remove or adjust seekers' headbands.
(B): A snitch runner must not pull on a seeker's broom.
(C): A snitch runner must not disobey the directives of the head referee.
(D): A snitch runner must not intentionally leave the soft pitch boundary.

Explanation:
Multiple answers must be chose to get this question correct. A & C must both be chosen as they are listed in the snitch code of conduct as actions that may not be taken by a snitch runner. B is allowed. D is allowed as there is no requirement that the snitch runner stay in the soft boundary.

References:
See 8.6.1. Snitch code of conduct.

Question 2:
Which of the following interactions are legal for a seeker? NOTE: There may be multiple correct answers. Select all correct answers.

Options:
(A): The seeker grabs the snitch runner's arm with one hand while reaching around to catch the snitch with the other.
(B): The seeker jumps over the head of the snitch runner and catches the snitch on the way down.
(C): The seeker pushes the snitch runner's torso while making a move to catch the snitch.
(D): The snitch runner's arm is on the seeker's chest. The seeker pushes up on the snitch runner's arm and then dives to one side to catch the snitch.

Explanation:
D is the only correct answer. Some contact between the seeker and snitch runner is allowed, but there are defined limits. Grabbing the snitch runner is not allowed, jumping over the snitch runner and landing on the other side is not allowed, and pushing the snitch runner's torso, legs, or waist is not allowed.

References:
(WF): See 6.3.B.iii. Seeker interactions with the snitch runner.

Question 3:
Which of the following is a legal seeker interaction?

Options:
(A): A seeker tackles the opposing seeker.
(B): A seeker charges the opposing seeker to prevent them from catching the snitch.
(C): A seeker grapples the opposing seeker during the seeker floor before they are released.
(D): A seeker places a hand on the opposing seeker's back from behind.

Explanation:
D. is allowed as this is incidental contact. A & B are disallowed as neither player has possession of a ball, and C is disallowed because players are not allowed to initiate contact while in the penalty box, including seekers before they have been released.

References:
See 6.2. Specific contact and 6.2.1. Grappling.

Question 4:
Which of the following is true regarding seekers and the snitch runner in first overtime? NOTE: There may be multiple correct answers. Select all correct answers.

Options:
(A): Seekers must wait for a 30 second seeker floor to expire before pursuing the snitch.
(B): The snitch runner must remain on the midpoint until both seekers have had a chance to catch the snitch.
(C): The snitch runner may leave the pitch, but must remain inside the player area.
(D): Overtime lasts five minutes and there may be multiple good snitch catches during that time.

Explanation:
A & C must both be selected to get the question correct. C is correct as the snitch runner may cross outside of the pitch area as long as they stay within the player area. B is not a requirement and D is not allowed.

References:
See 3.5.2. First overtime.

Question 5:
When is the snitch runner ruled as down? NOTE: There may be multiple correct answers. Select all correct answers.

Options:
(A): Whenever the snitch's body (other than feet or hands) touches the ground.
(B): Only when any part of the snitch's body (other than feet or hands) touches the ground unintentionally.
(C): Whenever the snitch touches the ground outside of the player area
(D): Whenever the snitch is not moving freely (e.g. lost footing).


Explanation:
A & C must both be selected to get the question correct. Any part of the snitch's body (other than hands and feet) touching the ground, whether intentionally or unintentionally, results in the snitch runner being ruled as down. Losing footing or being trapped does not count the snitch runner as down unless they also touch the ground with a part of the body other than hands and feet.

References:
See 8.8. Ruled as down.