Head Referee Written Test Guide

Common Incorrectly Answered Questions

Head Referee Written Test

Question 1:
Which of the following could be considered examples of delay of game? NOTE: There may be multiple correct answers. Select all correct answers.

Options:
(A): The quaffle carrier stands stationary behind a beater in possession of a bludger.
(B): The quaffle carrier zigzags slowly up the pitch.
(C): Two players repeatedly pass the quaffle back and forth on their own side of the midfield line.
(D): After moving forward to attack, the quaffle carrier encounters pressure from the defense. They then pass backward to another quaffle player in their own keeper zone. This is the first time the ball has crossed a restrictor line.

Explanation:
This question involves multiple answers and also refers to the Delay of Game rules. It is important to note that the delay of game scenarios listed here (A, B. & C), while no longer listed explicitly in the rule, are still considered Delay of Game and should be called as such. (As noted in the Casebook.) D. is not delay of game as far as the information given (it could become delay of game later if the player with quaffle does not leave the zone quickly, but the question ends after the pass is complete.) The correct answer is to select A, B, and C.

References:
(WF): See 7.3.1. Delay of game.

Question 2:
Which of the following is NOT a yellow card penalty? NOTE: There may be multiple correct answers. Select all correct answers.

Options:
(A): Recklessly dislodging a hoop.
(B): Willfully ignoring a knockout.
(C): Using verbal or visual referee commands during a game.
(D): Intentionally interacting with play while a substitute.

Explanation:
Another question that requires multiple correct answers to be selected. Recklessly dislodging a hoop and willfully ignoring a knockout are both yellow card offenses. However, using verbal or visual referee commands is a blue card offense and intentionally interacting with play while a substitute is a red card offense. Therefore both C & D must be selected to correctly answer the question.

References:
See 4.2.2. Dislodged hoop procedure, 9.1.1. Back to hoops fouls, 10.1.1.Q.i. Powers and duties of the head referee, and 1.3.5. Substitutes interfering with play.

Question 3:
Blue Team has scored a goal and Red Keeper has not requested the quaffle. Which of the following situations are legal and make the quaffle live? Note: There may be multiple correct answers. Select all correct answers.

Options:
(A): Blue Chaser picks up the quaffle and passes it to Red Keeper, who is in their own zone.
(B): The quaffle lands on Blue Team’s half of the pitch. Red Keeper picks up the quaffle, advancing into Blue Team’s keeper zone.
(C): The quaffle lands on Blue Team’s half of the pitch. Red Keeper picks up the quaffle, retreating back into their own half of the pitch.
(D): The quaffle lands on Red Team’s half of the pitch. Red Keeper picks up the quaffle, advancing into Blue Team’s half of the pitch.
(E) Red Chaser picks up the quaffle and passes it to Red Keeper, who is on their own half of the pitch but not in their keeper zone.

Explanation:
Another question requiring multiple correct answers. In this case C & D are the only situations that legally make the quaffle live. A is not legal because the Blue team is no longer allowed to touch the quaffle in this circumstance - opponents may not return a dead quaffle a formerly defending keeper unless the keeper explicitly requests that they do so. B is clearly incorrect as the keeper must gain possession on their own half. E. is incorrect because if a player on their own team helps the keeper retrieve the quaffle then they must start in their own keeper zone.

References:
See 4.4.2. Dead quaffle and 4.4.3.1. Keeper restart.

Question 4:
Red Chaser is bringing the quaffle up the pitch when Blue Chaser initiates a wrap from behind. Red Chaser escapes the wrap. The head referee raises their hand and throws their marker for advantage. Sometime after this offense but before advantage abates, Blue Chaser swats a bludger thrown by Red Beater. Advantage abates with no goal scored. What is the proper procedure?

Options:
(A): Blue Chaser receives a yellow card for the more severe penalty.
(B): Blue Chaser receives a blue card for the foul committed last.
(C): Blue Chaser receives both a blue card and a yellow card but serves only one minute of penalty time or until one goal is scored by Red Team.
(D): Blue Chaser receives both a blue card and a yellow card and serves two minutes of penalty time or until two goals are scored by Red Team.


Explanation:
C is the correct answer under rulebook 11. Previously other answers were correct, but this has been adjusted. In the case of advantage, when the fouling player commits a distinct separate foul before the advantage abates then both penalties will be given and all the appropriate cards will be shown but the penalty times do not stack.

References:
See 3.3.4.2.B.iii.a. Advantage.

Question 5:
The head referee blows their whistle to stop play and issue a yellow card to Blue Chaser. Before the card is shown, the snitch referee tells the head referee that Blue Team had a good snitch catch, but that the snitch referee was knocked down by a player and could not tell which occurred first, the catch or the foul. The snitch and assistant referees also do not know. Both Red Captain and Blue Captain agree that the catch happened before the foul. What is the proper procedure?

Options:
(A): Deliberate with the other officials and decide whether the foul or the catch happened first. They cannot be declared synchronous.
(B): Solicit opinions from spectators near the snitch catch to determine which occurred first.
(C): Since the captains agree, declare that the snitch catch happened before the foul. The snitch catch for Blue Team is called [b]good[/b] and Blue Chaser receives a yellow card, but the period is ended.
(D): Declare the events synchronous. The snitch catch for Blue Team is called [b]no good[/b] and blue chaser receives a yellow card.

Explanation:
D is the answer because each of the other choices has a disqualifying element. A is incorrect because while the referees should confer and attempt to determine what actually happened, if that is not possible they must declare the event synchronous. Under no circumstances should testimony from spectators or captains be included in the decision, invalidating B and C.

References:
See 4.5.3.A.v. Closely timed plays.

Question 6:
Blue Chaser A is running down the field in front of a quaffle-carrying Blue Chaser B. Blue Chaser A pushes Red Chaser in the chest, causing Red Chaser to fall backwards to the ground. What is the correct call?

Options:
(A): Blue Chaser is sent back to hoops.
(B): Blue Chaser receives a blue card.
(C): Blue Chaser receives a yellow card.
(D): No penalty.

Explanation:
It is legal to for a player without a ball to push any eligible player of the opposing team whether they have a ball or not, therefore there is no penalty for this play (D). (Unless the referee determines that the chaser in question commits a charge rather than a push.)

References:
See 6.2.4.A. Pushing.

Question 7:
Red Chaser is running with the quaffle. Blue Beater attempts to knock out Red Chaser. Red Chaser uses the quaffle to block the incoming bludger and the bludger is knocked to the ground. After the bludger has become dead, Red Chaser accidentally hits the bludger in the course of their running, causing the bludger to roll all the way to the other side of the field, but still within the pitch. What is the correct call?

Options:
(A): Red Chaser must be sent back to hoops.
(B): Stop play. The bludger is turned over to the closest eligible blue beater. Red Chaser must be sent back to hoops.
(C): No penalty.
(D): Without stopping play, the bludger is turned over to the closest eligible blue beater.

Explanation:
In this case the correct answer is a turnover of the bludger (D). The penalty for any player who "unintentionally and illegally acts on a ball of another position in a manner that significantly affects the position or trajectory of that ball" is explicitly listed as a turnover of the effected ball with no other penalty. (Also note that the bludger in the example is dead.)

References:
See 7.1.2. Using the balls.

Question 8:
Which of the following is NOT required to be discussed in the pregame meeting?

Options:
(A): Equipment checks.
(B): Speaking captains.
(C): Gender maximum rule.
(D): Snitch spectacles.

Explanation:
Answers B. (Speaking captains) and C. (the gender maximum rule) must be discussed in some way at every pregame meeting. Answer D (Snitch spectacles) must be discussed if the snitch is planning to perform any spectacles. Answer A. (equipment checks) is not considered to be part of the pregame meeting, as they are solely under the jurisdiction of the tournament director and the head referees, rather than a standard which may be debated on a game-by-game basis.

References:
See 3.1.1. Pregame meeting.

Question 9:
Red Chaser takes a shot on goal that is blocked by Blue Keeper inside Blue Team's keeper zone. The quaffle is caught by a spectator seated in the spectator area. What is the proper procedure?

Options:
(A): Stop play. The head or assistant referee retrieves the quaffle from the spectator area and gives it to Red Chaser, who is nearest the ball, two feet inside the player area.
(B): Stop play. The head or assistant referee retrieves the quaffle from the spectator area and gives it to Blue Keeper two feet inside the player area.
(C): Allow play to continue. The head referee retrieves the quaffle from the spectator area and gives it to Blue Keeper inside the keeper zone.
(D): Allow play to continue. The head referee informs a red chaser that they may enter the spectator area to retrieve the quaffle.

Explanation:
Keepers are explicitly granted possession on quaffles that leave the player area as direct a result of them blocking shots on their own goals, and play must always be stopped in this situation.

References:
See 7.7.2.B.iv. The spectator area.

Question 10:
The quaffle becomes loose near the midfield line during Blue Team's drive. Red Chaser sprints to pick up the quaffle but their momentum takes them into Blue Team's half of the pitch. Red Chaser immediately retreats to their half of the pitch.

Options:
(A): Not a reset for Red Team.
(B): Legal reset for Red Team. No additional resets allowed during Red Team's drive.
(C): Illegal reset for Red Team. Quaffle is turned over to Blue Team.
(D): Illegal reset for Red Team. Red Chaser receives a blue card.

Explanation:
As Red Chaser is initiating a new offensive drive for their team by recovering a loose quaffle, they are allowed to immediately reset the ball across one or both restrictor lines in order to better set up their team’s offense without those resets counting (A). Note that if Red Chaser had made significant progress into their opponent’s half in an attempt to score and then decided to reset the quaffle, that reset would be counted and all other reset rules would apply (B or C).

References:
See 7.4.G. Resetting.